Posted in Uncategorized

Thank You!

I just wanted to say a huge, “THANK YOU!!!!” to both parents and students!  Yesterday was so exciting for me.  I knew that the people from TV 18 were coming in… I had no idea about the rest!   In case you missed it, here’s brief memoir of the day’s events!

It was after lunch.  The students were coming back into the classroom.  They were cold.  They were rambunctious!  Excitement was in the air!  TV 18 was sending people to our classroom to video us learning.  Strange thoughts kept popping up in my head, ideas such as, “What if no one is learning?” and, “What if a fight breaks out?” and, “What if someone swears and no one notices it, and the camera picks it up, and it airs on TV?”  Well, I knew that wouldn’t happen… not with these little angels!

So, the afternoon began.  We were in the middle of putting the finishing touches on our Genius Hour Projects when they came in.  I must admit, I was so impressed with the professionalism that the kids showed.  Prior to the arrival of the camera people, we talked about how on wonderfully educational shows such as, Keeping up with the Kardashians, and Dance Moms, the actors must simply go about their activities like the cameras were not there.  So, that’s exactly what the kids did.  They were wonderful.

About half-way through the time, I saw my lovely wife pop her in past my window.  I had no clue at this point what was going on.  Then some strange man walks in with one of those enormous checks like they give away to winners of the Publisher’s Clearing House!  I was shocked.  I had no idea that any of this was happening.  Then came the balloons.  Then my mom and dad came in.  Then my buddy, Tiz.  Then, the entirety of the Central Office Staff: Dr. Hanback, Dr. Delong, and Dr. Fraley.  Mrs. Wildoner was there.  Then all of a sudden, there were people piling into the classroom that I had never even seen before.  Finally, to cap it all off, Ms. Walter and her 25 minions showed up.  There were now, about 50 students, and 15 adults in the room, and me.  I fit somewhere in between the adult and student categories, so I didn’t put myself in either one.

It was so surprising to me.  I was shocked.  We had a great time though.  In the back of my head, I was thinking, “Well, we need to get our Genius Hour Projects done now.”  The snow-day on Tuesday had really messed things up!

Finally, after about 20 minutes of exciting chaos, it was time for us to go to library.  It was right then, while we were lining up, that Riley’s dad, Jason, showed up.  We talked for a few moments.  He told Golden Appleme that he was there for the surprise.  I felt awful, realizing that he had just missed it.  So, I sent the class down to library.  As they walked down, Jason and I talked.  I told him about it, and what had taken place.  He ended up leaving as I walked into the office.

Immediately, upon arriving in the office, Mrs. Wildoner asked me to follow her.  I walked with her for a few minutes to the cafeteria, and my heart about stopped when I heard, “SURPRISE!”  I had no idea, that the kids and parents had planned another surprise for me.  It was at this moment that the realization of what I had done sunk in.  I had just sent Jason Dempewolf away from the wrong surprise party!  I immediately sent Riley to the classroom to get her phone.  She called him.  He turned around and returned.  However, he missed the party again.  It was time to send the class back to the library.  He and I sat down and talked and laughed.  I was exhausted by this point, having run out of adrenaline.

While the class was still in the cafeteria, they chanted, “SPEECH, SPEECH!”  The only thing that I could think of was this, “It’s hard not to be a Golden Apple teacher when I get to work with kids as amazing as you!”  This, is true.  To all of you parents out there reading this, I thank you as well.  You and your kids have made teaching fun.  For all of the chaotic, political, and bureaucratic nonsense that takes place in education, it is easy for some teachers to become bitter.  However, being able to work with and around, and for, wonderful people like you, and your kids makes my job the best job in the world.  It’s fun, it’s exciting, it’s never ending.  Thank you for entrusting me with your kids each and every day.

Cheers,

Beau

One thought on “Thank You!

  1. WOW!!! That’s AMAZING Beau!! We are ao happy for you and your moment of recognition! Just wonderful! Cherish these moments!! Thank you for trying so hard for our children!

    Tricia

    Like

Leave a Reply

