Posted in Uncategorized

Chicago Field Trip

IMG_4472The field trip to Chicago yesterday was a complete success!  I can’t remember a trip that I have enjoyed more.  It started off a little rocky with a toilet overflowing on one of the buses, luckily, it wasn’t the one that I was on!  Haha!  The kids were well behaved for the most part.  I was very proud of them and the way that they represented Dayton Elementary School.

IMG_4434Once we arrived in Chicago, we immediately ate lunch and then took on the Museum of Science and Industry.  I had never been there before, so I think I was as excited as the students!  If you have never been, I highly recommend putting it on your list of places to check out this IMG_4456summer.  It was the most interactive museum that I have ever experienced.

I think that if you asked the students, their highlights at the museum were probably the indoor tornado, the fun mirrors, or the submarine.  Mine was definitely the sub!

After the museum, we headed over to the Willis Tower (formerly the Sears Tower).  Again, I had never been up to the top, so you can imagine my child-like nature being a bit out of control.  I was excited, nervous, and afraid all wrapped into one.  I think the word for that is anxious.  The view was amazing though, and I can’t even begin to describe things my stomach was doing when I went out on the plexiglass box that hangs out IMG_4442over the edge of the building.  It was incredible.

To top the day off, we had our fill of Giordano’s deep dish Chicago Style Pizza.  Finally, my stomach was happy.

A big shout out goes to Mr. Perdue for organizing the trip!  He planned it wonderfully.  It’s not always easy organizing something for 70+ students, but it turned out to be a great day!  And finally, all of our chaperons deserve a big round of applause.  Kim Bledsoe, Jennifer Akridge, Alison Dice, Michelle Nehrig, and Cathy Swick, we could not have done this without you.  We really appreciate you giving up your day of work to join us on the trip!

Cheers,

Mr. Scott

One thought on “Chicago Field Trip

Leave a Reply

